Ann Weisgarber

About Ann

Ann WeisgarberAnn is the author of The Promise and The Personal History of Rachel DuPree that was nominated for England’s 2009 Orange Prize and for the 2009 Orange Award for New Writers.  In the United States, The Personal History of Rachel DuPree won the Stephen Turner Award for New Fiction and the Langum Prize for American Historical Fiction.  It was shortlisted for the Ohioana Book Award for Fiction and was a Barnes and Noble Discover New Writer.

The Promise was shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction, was the first finalist for the Spur Award for Best Western Historical Fiction, and was a finalist for the Ohioana Book Award for Fiction.

The Promise was inspired by a dilapidated house and by an interview Ann conducted when she was writing articles for a Galveston magazine.  She wrote much of the novel in Galveston where pelicans glide along the surf and cows graze in pastures.   Her debut novel, The Personal History of Rachel DuPree was inspired by a photograph of an unknown woman sitting in front of a sod dugout.  It was published in England and France before being published in the United States.

Ann was born and raised in Kettering, Ohio, a suburb of Dayton.  She graduated from Wright State University in Dayton with a Bachelor of Arts in Social Work and earned a Master of Arts in Sociology from the University of Houston.  She has been a social worker in psychiatric and nursing home facilities, and taught sociology at Wharton County Junior College in Texas.

In addition to Ohio and Texas, Ann has lived in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Des Moines, Iowa.  She now splits her time between Sugar Land, Texas, (home to Imperial Sugar Company), and Galveston, Texas.   She and her husband, Rob, are fans of America’s national parks and visit at least one park a year.

Ann is currently working on her next novel that takes place in Capitol Reef National Park, Utah, during the winter of 1887.



Historical Novel Society

Houston Writers Guild

Texas Institute of Letters

The Writers’ League of Texas

Western Writers of America






©Copyright 2012 Ann Weisgarber. All Rights Reserved                                                                                                                    Created by ... Websites for Authors.